Mayor of Accra

Hon. Mohammed Adjei Sowah

Mayor of Accra;
Chief Executive, Accra Metropolitan Assembly

Mayor of Accra

Mohammed Adjei Sowah is currently the Mayor of Accra. He is a transformational and progressive leader who has led state and non-state actors through challenging times to a steady path. Mayor Sowah is a Social Entrepreneur by vocation and an expert in local economic development. He has keen interest in urban development and very passionate about issues on climate change, urban mobility, resilience and informal economies.

Career Path

Mayor Sowah until his appointment has under his belt over 23 years of work in local economic development especially in the area of informal economies and small business development. Mayor Sowah is the Founder & Executive Director of the Social Enterprise Agenda. He is also the Founder of MAS Investments Ltd, a company which provides a wide range of business solutions including small business management, general investments and business franchising.


He represents African Mayors as Vice Chair on the Steering Committee of C40 Cities, a Climate Leadership Group. He also serves on the Board of the Global Covenant of Mayors on Climate and Energy representing African Mayors.

Mayor Sowah is a Council Member of “Cities that Work” an International Growth Centre (IGC) initiative facilitated by the London School of Economics and the Oxford University with the primary focus on building and translating economic research and practical insight into clear urban policy guidance.

Mayor Sowah chairs the Board of the Greater Accra Passenger Transport Executive (GAPTE), a Bus Rapid Transit system. Other responsibilities of Mayor Sowah is his membership on the Advisory Board of The Beyond Aid Project, a Social Enterprise Organisation that builds capacity for young vulnerable women in rural and urban poor communities to add value to locally available raw materials for their economic empowerment.


Mayor Sowah holds MSc in Local Economic Development from the Institute of Local Government Studies, Ghana. Prior to that, he pursued a course in Public Administration and Youth Development both at the University of Ghana where he successfully obtained BSc Administration and Diploma in Youth Development respectively. Additionally, he holds certificate in Strategic Management, Human Resource Development & Planning from the Ghana Institute of Management and Public Administration (GIMPA). He is currently a candidate in Masters in International Relations and Diplomacy, and also pursuing a professional course in “Bloomberg Harvard City Leadership Initiative” at GIMPA and Harvard University respectively.


Mayor Sowah is a sports enthusiast and has supported and promoted the lessor known sports including arm wrestling, basketball, swimming etc. He is the Greater Accra Chairperson of the Swimming Association. He also serves as an Ambassador of the Trust Sports Emporium. He is an avid reader and a community development activist.

Former Mayors