Pay for your fees and charges Pay Now

Ashiedu Keteke

Sub Metropolitan District Council

Mrs. Mercy Odoi

Sub Metro Director

Sub Metro Contact Details

Digital Address: GA-183-0577

+233 (0) 302 665 951

Ashiedu Keteke

Sub Metropolitan District Council

The Ashiedu Keteke Sub Metro is one of the three (3) Sub Metropolitan District Councils of Accra Metropolitan Assembly (AMA). The Sub metro is bounded by Osu Klottey Sub Metro to the West, Ablekuma Central to the North and Ablekuma South to the East.

The Sub Metro area starts from the Old Parliament House and moves along the Barnes road to the Kinbu Road. It then turns along the Kinbu road through the MTTU to the Graphic Road. At the bridge between the LETAP Jewelry factory and Beyaama Cold Store, it moves along the Gulf of Guinea beach to the Kwame Nkrumah Mausoleum.

The 2010PHC estimated the population of the Sub-Metro as 117,525 with 13,732 houses and 34,964 households. Using the Greater Accra Growth Rate of 3.1%, it is estimated that the 2018 population of the area stands at 143,768.

The Sub-Metro houses the Central Business District (CBD) and as such the hub of major commercial activities within the Metropolis. As the centre of commerce, it hosts some major markets within the Greater Accra Region such as Makola, Agbogbloshie, Kwasiodwaso etc.

Some other major economic and social services include; Banking, education, Hospitals, light industrial activities etc. The nature of the Sub-Metro, therefore, attracts an estimated daily influx of about 2 million people from various walks of life who come into the City for Administrative, Educational, Industrial and Commercial concerns.

This situation does not only boost economic activities within the Metropolis but also put a lot of pressure on already heavily burdened infrastructure facilities, coupled with sanitation challenges.

It has seven (7) Electoral areas as follows;

  • Ngleshie Electoral Area
  • Mudor Electoral Area
  • Kinka Electoral Area
  • Nmlitsagonno Electoral Area
  • Amamomo Electoral Area
  • Korle Wonkon Electoral Area
  • Korle Dudor Electoral Area

Other Sub Metros