Ablekuma South

Sub Metropolitan District Council

. Nuerki Sodjah

Sub Metro Director

Sub Metro Contact Details

Digital Address: GA-183-0577

+233 (0) 302 665 951

Ablekuma South

Sub Metropolitan District Council

The Ablekuma South Sub Metropolitan District Council is one of the three (3) Sub Metropolitan District Councils of Accra Metropolitan Assembly (AMA). The Sub Metro is the largest in the Metropolis and shares its boundaries with Ablekuma Central, Ablekuma North Municipal Assembly and Ashiedu Keteke Sub Metropolitan District Council. It covers an area of 15.1 sqkm.

The Sub Metro has an estimated population of 257,543 with 22,751 houses and 69,401 households according to the 2010 housing Census. In 2018, using the Greater Accra Growth Rate of 3.1%, it is projected that the population of Ablekuma South Stands at 315,051.

The boundary from the current office location moves through the Kpakpo Oti Road intersection to Ring Road West (Mortuary Road) then from Ring Road West, it moves Eastwards to Laterbiokorshie intersection (Zoti) and turns left from Laterbiokorshie Road to link Road intersection to Chemu Road (Summer Hut Junction). Then from Sempe Traffic Light Street (I.B.E) through Mampong stream. 

The Ablekuma South Sub Metro area has contributed immensely to the economic development of Accra. The dominant economic activity within the Sub-Metro is fishing and fish mongering activities since the majority of its communities are found along the coastline. It also hosts some business entities like supermarkets, banks, fuel stations, educational institutions and hotels.

It has two main markets which are, the Tuesday Market at Korle Gonno and Dansoman Market.

The Sub-Metro before the creation of the new Municipal Assembly had 10 Sub-Metros. However, after the curving out Ablekuma West Municipal Assembly from Ablekuma West, the Sub-Metro has 5 Electoral areas as follows;

  • Korle Gonno
  • Korle -Bu
  • Chorkor
  • Mamprobi
  • New Mamprobi

Other Sub Metros