| 030 266 5951

The Accra Metropolitan Assembly (AMA) being the Administrative Authority over The City of Accra is the first of the Two Hundred and Sixteen (216) Metropolitan, Municipal and District Assemblies (MMDAs) in Ghana and among the sixteen (16) MMDAs in the Greater Accra Region. It was established in 1898 but has gone through numerous changes in terms of name, Jurisdictional Boundaries and number of Sub-Metropolitan District Councils. The Accra Metropolitan Assembly derives its legal basis from the 1992 constitution of the Republic of Ghana, Local Governance Act 2017, Act 940 and Legislative Instrument (L.I) 2034.


Accra Metropolitan Assembly (AMA) began as a Town Council and was first established by the Town Council Ordinance of 1894, after the introduction of Native Authorities by the colonial government in 1878.

The native authorities were local government units made up of non-elected paramount chiefs, sub-chiefs and elders. The traditional rulers served as central figures in local government and were only given powers to pass bye-laws, Though this local administration produced close relationship between the chiefs and the British authorities, it failed to meet the needs and aspiration of the people.

Accra was declared a city on the 28th June 1961 and became Accra City Council. The Accra City Council was dissolved to become Accra Tema City Council in August 1964. The Accra Metropolitan Assembly was established by PNDC Law 207 which has been replaced by an enabling Local Government Act 1993 (Act 462).

Population and Size

The 2010 Population and Housing Census (PHC) puts the population of Accra at 1,665,086. This figure projected using the Greater Accra Regional growth rate of 3.1%, puts the current resident population at 1,986,580. In addition to this, our day-to-day engagement reveals that AMA has a daily influx of over 2.5 million commuters who visit the City for wide range of services and business activities. This however gives AMA a daily estimated population of over 4 million. The AMA covers an area of about 137 sqkm.


The City of Accra is bounded to the North by La Nkwantana Madina Municipal Assembly (LANMA). To the West, it is bounded by Ga Central Municipal Assembly (GSMA). The Eastern corridor of the Assembly is the La Dade Kotopon Municipal Assembly (LADMA). The Southern boundary stretches along the Gulf of Guinea.

Administrative Councils

For effective decentralization at the local level, the Assembly is further divided into ten (10) Sub-Metropolitan District Councils as follows; Ablekuma South, Ablekuma Central, Ablekuma North, Ayawaso Central, Ayawaso East, Ayawaso West, Okaikoi South, Okaikoi North, Osu Klottey and  Ashiedu Keteke.

There are 13 Electoral Constituencies within the AMA jurisdiction, and these are Ayawaso North, Ayawaso East, Ayawaso Central, Ayawaso West Wuogon, Okaikoi North, Okaikoi Central, Okaikoi South, Ablekuma North, Ablekuma Central, Ablekuma West, Ablekuma South, Odododiodioo, Klottey Korley.

Organizational Structure

The Assembly has sixteen (16) Departments and other Units with Heads of Departments who all report directly to the Metro Coordinating Director (MCD) and ultimately to the Metro Chief Executive (Mayor). In the performance of its functions, the Accra Metropolitan Assembly works through 14 Sub-Committees. These Sub-Committees perform deliberative functions and submit recommendations to the Executive committee for further deliberation and then to the General Assembly for final decisions and aprroval. The Fourteen (14) Sub-Committees include; Social Services, Finance & Administration, Development Planning, Revenue Mobilization, Justice & Security, Education, Works, Environmental Management, Youth & Sports, Culture & Trade and Industry, Disaster Management, Food & Agriculture, Health, Women & Children.

Comments are closed.