Ayawaso Central

Sub Metropolitan District Council

Hon. Alhaji Hassan Salih

Sub-Metro Chairman

Mr. Kwabena Kwei-Sagoe

Sub-Metro Director

Sub Metro Contact Details

Digital Address: GA-183-0577

+233 (0) 302 665 951


Ayawaso Central

Sub Metropolitan District Council

The Ayawaso Central Sub Metropolitan District Council formally comprising of Aywaso North is one of the Six (6) Sub Metro District Councils of Accra Metropolitan Assembly (AMA).

It is bounded in the North by Ayawaso West Sub Metro, in the West by Okaikoi South Sub Metro, South by Osu Klottey Sub-Metro and in the East by Ayawaso East Sub-Metro.

The 2010PHC estimated the population of the Sub-Metro as 142,322 with 68,390 houses and 73,932 households. Using the Greater Accra Growth Rate of 3.1%, it is estimated that the 2018 population of the area stands at 174,102.

Ayawaso Central Sub Metro covers the following electoral areas;

  • Mamobi West,
  • Kwoatsuru,
  • Mamobi East,
  • Nima West,
  • Kanda.

These electoral areas are also represented in the Assembly by five Assembly Members.

Some Communities within the Sub-Metro include; Kotobabi, New Town, Aladjo, Kpehe, and Kokomlemle.