Ablekuma Central

Sub Metropolitan District Council

Hon. Samuel Brako-Amoafo

Sub-Metro Chairman

Mr. Emmanuel Asamoah

Sub-Metro Director

Sub Metro Contact Details

Digital Address: GA-183-0577

+233 (0) 302 665 951

Ablekuma Central

Sub Metropolitan District Council

Ablekuma Central Sub Metropolitan District Council is one of the Six (6) Sub Metropolitan District Councils of Accra Metropolitan Assembly (AMA). It shares boundaries with Ablekuma North Sub Metro to the North, Ablekuma South Sub Metro to the South, and to the East by Okaikoi South Sub Metropolitan District council. The total land area is 11.5sqkm, with 18,277 number of Houses and 60,742 Households (2010 PHC).

The 2010 PHC estimated the population of Ablekuma Central Sub-Metro as 224,795. Using the Greater Accra Population Growth Rate of 3.1%, in 2018, it is estimated that the Sub-Metro has population of 274,990.

This Sub-Metro’s boundary starts from Hansonic junction through first Light to Obetsebi roundabout to Korle Lagoon (Beyeeman) then right following the Lagoon to the traffic light before Zoti Clinic. It turns right on the Lartebiokoshie road to Radio Gold traffic light and turns left to Summer Hut junction. Then turns right through new Mamprobi to the storm drain at Zamramaline it turns left to Mars junction through sharp curve through Asoredanho to Hansonic.

The Area is densely populated and predominantly made up of mixed tribes. The majority occupations of the inhabitants are trading and transport businesses.

Some of the communities within the area include; Mataheko, Abossey Okai Spare Parts Area, Ayigbe Town, Nkrumah Flats, Parts of Dansoman, Sabon Zongo, Soko, Sukura, Russia and Zamrama Line.

This sub-metro has seven (7) Electoral Areas as follows;

  • Abossey Okai
  • Nmenmeete
  • Mataheko
  • Gbortsui
  • Mambrouk
  • Adwenbu
  • Laterbiokorshie