ET Mensah elected to Council of State


Mr Enoch Teye Mensah, former Member of Parliament for the Ningo-Prampram constituency has been unanimously elected as the representative of Council of State for the  Greater Accra Region.

Mr Mensah who polled 58 votes out of the 58 votes cast representing 100 per cent of the valid vote cast to beat three other contestants during the region's election held at the Accra Metropolitan Assembly (AMA)  on Friday, February 12, 2021, and presided over by the Electoral Commission and the Regional Co-ordinating Council in accordance with Paragraph (C) of Clause (2) of Article 89 of the 1992 Constitution.

His contenders; John Mantse Akwetey,   Nii Kotei Dzani and Michael Kofi Mensah, had no votes. 

The Greater Accra Regional Director of the Electoral Commission, Kwame Amoah who made the declaration said Mr ET Mensah, a former Minister of Youth and Sports in the Rawlings’ administration obtained 58 votes representing 100 per cent of all votes cast hence the winner. 

Mr Enoch Teye Mensah  born on 17th May, 1946 hails from Prampram in the Greater Accra Region of Ghana. He is a renowned politician,  a former Mayor of Accra during the PNDC era, Minister for Education and Member of Parliament (MP) for Ningo-Prampram married with eight children.

Mr Enoch Teye Mensah in an address after the election expressed his appreciation to delegates who were made up of two representatives from all 29 Metropolitan, Municipal and District Assemblies in the Greater Accra Region. 

"This is overwhelming, thanks for your love and support... This victory was made possible by all of you and this is not about partisan politics... My motivation to run for the position was to team up with the President's nominee for the region and bring our vast experience in local government to bear to make the region a better place," he said. 

The establishment of a Council of State is a requirement enshrined in articles 89 to 92 of the 1992 Constitution which states: "There shall be a Council of State to counsel the President in the performance of his functions.”

Prior to the election, the President, Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo had appointed Nana Otuo Siriboe II, the Juabenhene; Archbishop Justice Ofei Akrofi, Mr Sam Okudzeto, Alhaji Sule Yiremiah and Mr Stanley Adjiri Blankson, Prof. Ato Essuman, Alhaji Aminu Amadu, Dr Margaret Amoakohene, Mrs Georgina Kusi, Mrs Alberta Cudjoe and Kuoro Richard Babini Kanton VI. to serve on the Council of State for his second term in office.

In accordance with Article 89 and subject to consultation with Parliament, the President also appointed a former Chief Justice, Mrs Georgina Theodora Wood; a former Chief of the Defence Staff of the Ghana Armed Forces, Lt Gen. J.B. Danquah, and a former Inspector-General of Police, Nana Owusu Nsiah, to the council with the President of the National House of Chiefs, Ogyeahohoo Yaw Gyebi II, as an ex officio member of the council, in furtherance of Article 89(2)(b).