Danish Ambassador calls on Mayor Sackey; discusses liquid waste management solutions


The Ambassador of Denmark to Ghana H.E Tom Nørring, has called on the Mayor of Accra, Elizabeth Kwatsoe Sackey to discuss sustainable solutions in liquid waste management.

Ambassador Nørring was accompanied by the Denmark Embassy’s Sector Counsellor for Cities, Water and Climate and technical experts in wastewater management from Aarhus Vand (water utility in Denmark).

Receiving the delegation at the City Hall on Tuesday ahead of a field visit to selected liquid waste management sites in the city, Mayor Sackey stated that the city authority was open to learning best practices to enhance Accra’s liquid waste management.

She requested the visiting delegation to share their observations with her office in line with fostering a healthy working relationship between the city and the Danish Embassy.

Ambassador Tom Nørring in a brief remark, applauded Mayor Sackey for being the first female Mayor of Accra and wished her all the best in her office and used the opportunity to call on Ghana to pass the Affirmative Action Bill to give a chance to more females in decision-making.

He briefed the Mayor on the Aarhus Vandteam's operations on the wastewater track of the Strategic Sector Cooperation on Water in the Tema Metropolitan Assembly (TMA).

The team later visited multiple sludge treatment projects in Accra to gain a firsthand understanding of their operations and discuss synergies towards future wastewater infrastructure investments in Tema.

His Excellency Tom Nørring is an accomplished career diplomat who has received prominent awards including the Order of Dannebrog, Knight 1st Class in 2006 and Grand Cross of the Phoenix Order in 2009, in connection with the State Visit of the President of the Hellenic Republic in Denmark," the statement said.

Until his appointment to Ghana on September 1st, 2020, he was the Ambassador of Denmark to Australia, New Zealand and Fiji from 2016 to July 2020.

 Before that, he was the Ambassador of Denmark to Hungary from 2012-2016 and to the Hellenic Republic from 2007-2012.